top of page
  • Amy

If Wishes Wore Stripes

Updated: Jun 24, 2022




If I could be a bumblebee,

I would deftly buzz about

And find a purple thistle bloom

With which to brush my coat

Of softest fuzz; my yellow stripes

Would glint bright beside the black,

And tinted green by pollen dust

That showered on my back,

When deep into the slender throats

Of flowers drenched in dew-

I’d slip, and in these hidden nooks

I’d feed on honeyed brew.


If I could be a bumblebee,

With wings of gossamer,

I would dwell among the blossom tribes-

A nectar connoisseur.

Flitting through the green-gold light

Between the stems and leaves,

I would find a mossy spot to doze

Beneath silk-petaled eaves.

With filmy wings curled round my stripes

I would listen to the breeze

Mingle with the humming

Of my fellow bumblebees.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page